The Benefits of Breastfeeding for Mother and Baby

 

Breastfeeding is the normal way of providing young infants with the nutrients they need for healthy growth and development.

Breastfeeding was one of the best decisions I made as a mother.  My first baby came by emergency c-section which made it difficult to continue with my plans for nursing,  My milk was limited and the sucking only added to the excruciating pain I was experiencing, as a result,  I gave up. I knew the importance of creating a bond during feeding but for the first week, I was in so much pain, I could only watch as my husband took care of and feed our little girl which increase the bond the two of them shared. Once I was able to take care of our daughter, I put forth every opportunity to make sure that I was holding her close during feedings, I guess looking back, I was a little jealous of the bond the two of them seemed to share.

When our son was born, I  made the decision once again to breastfeed.  The closeness we shared during feeding created a bond that was exhilarating,  He was unable to digest formula and the smell of the soy milk the doctors suggested as a supplement, made me work even harder to try to increase my milk production.  I contacted a lactation consultant who not only helped with teaching me how to get my baby to latch on properly but also showed me massage techniques to help clear the milk ducts, which increased my milk supply. I continued to breastfeed my son until he was 11-months.  The benefits of breastfeeding goes far beyond the close bond the two share; research

The benefits of breastfeeding go far beyond the close bond the two share. Some of the benefits include:

  1. Lower SIDS risk:   Breastfeeding lowers your baby’s risk of sudden infant death syndrome by about half.

  2.  Better healing postdelivery:   The oxytocin released when your baby nurses help your uterus contract, reducing postdelivery blood loss. Plus, breastfeeding will help your uterus return to its normal size more quickly—at about six weeks postpartum, compared with 10 weeks if you don’t breastfeed.

  3. More effective vaccines:  Research shows that breastfed babies have a better antibody response to vaccines than formula-fed babies.

  4. Benefits for all:   According to a study published in the journal Pediatrics, the United States would save about $13 billion per year in medical costs if 90 percent of U.S. families breastfed their newborns for at least six months.

I applaud all mothers who courageously nurse their babies in the open public despite the barrage of negative comments.   Many of the people that are shocked and or embarrassed by seeing something so natural are usually the same people who enjoy sitting around a pool or beach watching women in the scantly clad beachwear and find this socially acceptable, how hypocritical.

In Japan, Exclusive Breastfeeding was the only practical feeding method to feed infants until the end of the first half of the 20th century.  Many women in Japan usually continue breastfeeding until two to three years of age, and breastfeeding up to six years of age was common.

References

 

Lucia, C. A. (n.d.). 20 Breastfeeding Benefits for Mom and Baby. Retrieved March 15, 2017, from https://www.fitpregnancy.com/baby/breastfeeding/20-breastfeeding-benefits-mom-baby

Inoue, M., Binns, C. W., Otsuka, I., Jimba, M., & Matsubara, M. (2012, October 25). Infant feeding practices and breastfeeding duration in Japan: A review. Retrieved March 15, 2017, from https://internationalbreastfeedingjournal.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/1746-4358-7-15

 

2 thoughts on “The Benefits of Breastfeeding for Mother and Baby

  1. Hello Doris
    Enjoyed the benefit of breastfeeding blog. I am sure many expectant mother can get close and personal to this blog. You provided many insights to the benefits of breastfeeding and why it is important. Even in other cultures like Japan, many continue this custom well beyond infancy.

    Like

  2. Hello Doris,
    I enjoy reading your post and breastfeeding is the topic that always need to be discuss for new mother’s to be. I wanted to breastfeed with my first born but he was born with four teeth in his mouth, so we knew that was not going to happen, so I used the breast pump to give him breast milk. With my second son, I tried breastfeeding, but after I drop him because I fell asleep, I stop with him and just pump my breast and when I had my third I did not try I just pump my breast. Breastfeeding, does cut down on your child being sick and help you save money from buy formula milk.

    Like

Leave a comment